Entries in Pepperboy (29)


AiMT's 2016 Hip-Hop Favorites, Pt. 1

  1. The Last Artful, Dodgr - "Squadron" prod. by W N T D.
  2. Lil Yachty ft. Quavo - "No Hook" prod. by FKi
  3. Skepta ft. D Double E & A$AP Nast - "Ladies Hit Squad" prod. by Skepta
  4. A$AP Ferg ft. Future - "New Level" prod. by Honorable C.N.O.T.E
  5. Greenova South ft. Lil Flip - "Kome Ryde With Us" prod. by Young God
  6. Post Malone ft. Larry June - "Never Understand" prod. by FKi & Post Malone
  7. Kodak Black - "Skrt" prod. by Skip on da Beat
  8. Travis Scott & Young Thug ft. Quavo - "Pick Up the Phone" prod. by Frank Dukes & Vinylz
  9. JD. Reid ft. D Double E - "Rōshi"
  10. Kamaiyah - "I'm On" prod. by Drew Banga
  11. Lil Haiti - "Good Vibe"
  12. Desiigner - "Panda" prod. by Menace
  13. FKi 1st ft. Danny Seth - "Prove Yourself" prod. by FKi, Cashio & Rex Kudo
  14. Starrah - "Dirty Diana"

Greenova South ft. Lil Flip - "KRWU" prod. by Young God

KRWU is quickly becoming my most anticipated album of 2016, and this title track from the project will definitely keep my interest peaked until we get the full tape. (Pep just told me it could drop as early as this month.)

Houston veteran hitmaker Lil Flip sounds perfectly at home over Young God's syrupy mellow instrumental. Pep and Squadda also have very strong presences on this one.

Greenova South (Pepperboy & Squadda B) - "Tears in My Eyes" prod. by Young God

Little Rock's Pepperboy put out one LP and one collaborative EP last year. In comparison to the monsoon of content he put out in 2013 and 2014, 2015 was a slow year for him. Or at least that was my assumption. Now it seems evident that he's been busy recording and carefully calculating his next move.

In his vast catalog, the mournful "Tears in My Eyes" stands out as his best track. And lucky for us, there's an entire LP coming from this same team (Pepp, Squadda B from Main Attrakionz, and production by Young God of BSBD). The project will be out via NY boutique clothing giant Mishka, which is an appropriate and well deserved platform for Pepp.

🍸 Here's to a big 2016 for Pepperboy and his affiliates.


Pepperboy, Black Kirk Kobang & S. Ray - "Stop Playing With Me"

Happy birthday to Pepperboy, Little Rock's veteran hero of cloud rap music. He was kind enough to let me premiere this new track off Hard 2 Cope 2, his forthcoming collaboration LP with fellow Greenova South artist S. Ray. Also featured here is another Little Rock artist Black Kirk Kobang to round out this collabo.

Hard 2 Cope 1 came out around this time last year and saw Pep tone down his cloud music direction in favor of a return to his street rap roots. Sounds like we're in store for more of that based on the anthemic "Stop Playing With Me."

Pepperboy ft. Main Attrakionz - "Put 'Em On" Video


Pepperboy - "Home" Video


New Pepperboy album: Pottersfield

Little Rock-based cloud music hero Pepperboy is back with new material after a long layoff. (Eight months may not sound like a long layoff, but considering Pep's insanely active release schedule of recent years, it's quite a lengthy stretch). On first listen, Pottersfield sounds like the layoff has done him some good. Right away it is apparent that Pep has worked on flipping his inflections throughout these tracks. This adds some depth and range to his vocal arsenal. You can also hear the beefiness of the mixdowns, which are a noticeable upgrade from many of his more relaxed releases. Nice to hear that he's branching out and refining his sound for the better. Guests include previous collaborator Keyboard Kid, Greenova affiliates S.Ray and Squadda B, and fellow cloud rap mainstay Black Kray. Can't wait to spend more time with this one.

Pepperboy - "Lost Soulja" Video


Pepperboy - "Lost Soulja"

Today Little Rock's Pepperboy continues his busy streak of free new releases with Tora-Tora-Tora EP, which builds off the military theme of his 3 Volleys album from earlier this year. "Lost Soulja" seems to chronicle Pep's own imagination pertaining to events of the Pacific War:


Pepperboy & S. Ray - "What You Live 4" Video

First video from Pepperboy's new collaborative album with S. Ray: